Memory is the bridge to our past and our future

CNLM Fellows and Members at UC Irvine

Michael Alkire
malkire@uci.edu
Mechanisms of memory and anesthesia

Tallie Z. Baram
tallie@uci.edu
Molecular and structural mechanisms of Memory; Stress, Epilepsy

Jorge Busciglio
jbuscigl@uci.edu
Characterization of the cellular and molecular pathways that lead to neuronal death in Down's syndrome and Alzheimer's disease

Larry Cahill
lfcahill@uci.edu
Neurobiological bases by which emotional arousal sculpts the contents of memory

Susana Cohen-Cory
scohenco@uci.edu
Synapse formation in the developing nervous system; in vivo imaging studies

Karina Cramer
cramerk@uci.edu
Cellular and molecular mechanisms underlying brain development and plasticity

Steven C. Cramer
scramer@uci.edu
Working to understand: stroke, spinal cord injury, and other forms of CNS injury
Timothy Bredy
tbredy@uci.edu
Molecular basis of learning and memory
Barbara A. Dosher
bdosher@uci.edu
Structure of information in memory; speed and flexibility of memory access
Norbert J. Fortin
norbert.fortin@uci.edu
Fundamental neurobiological mechanisms underlying episodic memory, the memory for personal experiences, using behavioral and electrophysiological techniques

Ron D. Frostig
rfrostig@uci.edu
Function, structure, and plasticity of sensory cortex

Sunil P. Gandhi
sunil.gandhi@uci.edu
Plasticity in the neural circuits of the mammalian visual system

John F. Guzowski
john.g@uci.edu
Molecular basis of learning and memory in the mammalian brain

Gregory Hickok
gshickok@uci.edu
Neuroscience of language

Claudia Kawas
ckawas@uci.edu
Dementia and memory disorders, geriatric neurology, epidemiology

Frank M. LaFerla
laferla@uci.edu
Cellular and molecular impact of genes that have been linked to this Alzheimer disease

Michael Leon
mleon@uci.edu
How early learning shapes brain development, odor coding

Elizabeth F. Loftus
eloftus@uci.edu
How facts, ideas, suggestions and other forms of post-event information can modify our memories

Charles Limoli
climoli@uci.edu
How oxidative stress, neurogenesis, stem cells, chemobrain, & irradiation affect memory

James L. McGaugh
jlmcgaug@uci.edu
Roles of stress hormones and brain systems that regulate memory consolidation

Bruce McNaughton
brucemcn@uci.edu
Cellular and computational studies of memory

Raju Metherate
rmethera@uci.edu
How our brains perceive sounds, Synaptic physiology of auditory cortex

Daniele Piomelli
piomelli@uci.edu
Function of lipid-derived messengers, with particular emphasis on the endogenous cannabinoids anandamide and 2-arachidonoylglycerol

Steven L. Small
small@uci.edu
Neurobiology of language and hand-motor systems and the effects of stroke on these systems

Ivan Soltesz
isoltesz@uci.edu
Plasticity of neuronal inhibition, mechanisms of selective neuronal vulnerability

Craig E. Stark, Director
cestark@uci.edu
Cognitive neuroscience of learning and memory using fMRI

Oswald Steward
osteward@uci.edu
Synapse-specific gene expression: Molecular mechanisms underlying the formation and modification of synaptic connections
Georg F. Striedter
gstriedt@uci.edu
Behavioral neuroscience; evolutionary developmental neurobiology; animal behavior; neuroethology

Leslie M. Thompson
lmthomps@uci.edu
Molecular and biochemical studies of two human genetic disorders, Huntington's disease and achondroplasia

Norman M. Weinberger
nmweinbe@uci.edu
Neurobiology of learning and memory, cortical plasticity, auditory system, cholinergic function, music

Marcelo A. Wood
mwood@uci.edu
Molecular basis of learning and memory

Michael A. Yassa
myassa@uci.edu
Neuroscience of memory in aging and dementia



CNLM Fellows at other institutions

Ralph Adolphs
Caltech
radolphs@hss.caltech.edu
Cognitive neuroscience, neuropsychology, neuroscience of emotion, social neuroscience

Stephan G. Anagnostaras
UC San Diego
stephana@ucsd.edu
How memory is produced from the interplay of genes, neural systems, behavior, and cognition.

Michel Baudry
USC
baudry@usc.edu
Synaptic plasticity,  mechanisms implicated in the storage of information in cortical structures

Robert E. Clark
UC San Diego
reclark@ucsd.edu
Organization and neurological foundations of learning and memory

Michael S. Fanselow
UCLA
fanselow@psychology.ucla.edu
The nature and function of fear and emotional memories

Joaquin M. Fuster
UCLA
joaquinf@ucla.edu
Mechanisms by which the cortex stores and retains information in working memory

Barbara J. Knowlton
UCLA
knowlton@psych.ucla.edu
Brain systems involved in higher cognitive functions

Jill Leutgeb
UC San Diego
jleutbeb@ucsd.edu
Organization and neurological foundations of learning and memory

Stefan Leutgeb
UC San Diego
sleutbeb@ucsd.edu
Organization and neurological foundations of learning and memory
Kelsey C. Martin
UCLA
kcmartin@mednet.ucla.edu
Cellular and molecular mechanisms underlying learning-related synaptic plasticity, especially long-lasting forms of synaptic plasticity

Mark Mayford
Scripps Institute
mmayford@scripps.edu
Cellular and molecular mechanisms in the mammalian brain that control the ability of animals to learn and remember new information

Alcino J. Silva
UCLA
silvaa@ucla.edu
Molecular, cellular and circuit processes that underlie learning and memory

Larry R. Squire
UC San Diego
lsquire@ucsd.edu
Structure and organization of memory in patients with memory disorders and in animal models of human memory

Richard F. Thompson
USC
thompson@usc.edu
Localization and analysis of the mechanisms of memory formation, storage and retrieval in the mammalian brain

Brian Wiltgen
UC Davis
bjwiltgen@ucdavis.edu
Cellular and molecular mechanisms of memory consolidation